I’m back (again)

Long time no see, here we are again.
Distracted from my job and other real life related situation stuff, i lost my motivation to
blog about my virtual life, new gaming related informations and other stuff.

Let’s summarise quickly:

I’m still alive, atm looking for a new job, also kinda busy with my actual one.
My collection (Mostly NES atm) grows and grows. Within the past few months, i
stocked my NES CIB’s up with around 20 new ones. I have a full NES set of Castlevania (I-III), and 2 times Mega Man 2. Apart from that also many other good games.

Here is just one picture:
m-konversation-anhang

And if this wasn’t enough. I also got a famicom and a wonderswan recently.

CY2mpyPWkAEIWby (1)

And as you see, some manuals to complete my other games, and Rockman 2, Yoshis Cookie, and some decent wonderswan games.
Everything is in great condition, i just didn’t manage to set up my famicom yet, since it only supports antenna output, which confuses my 50hz PAL TV a bit. That’s why i have to pay another few bux to let my famicom get a decent graphic mod.
But later, i will post some results of it. Why do I need a famicom? Oh that’s simple. As you may already know, i speedrun Mega Man 2, mainly on emulator. You can check the leaderboard for the route i run here:
http://jokaah.com/mmrta/index.php?game=2&category=256
I hope you don’t get tired by scrolling while searching for my name on the leaderboard. (^o^)
And well, i always wanted to speedrun on real console. I own 3 PAL NES consoles and i recently got the a Mega Man 2 PAL game donation by one of my viewers called seriaz1. (Thanks a lot mate)
Well, as a collector i should have known before but i was kinda lazy stupid to not think about the simple fact that PAL NES is 50hz and NTSC NES games are 60hz which drastically changes the game behaviour in most of the NES games. Mostly the fact that PAL games run 1/6 SLOWER than NTSC games makes them nearly impossible for speedruns. So i needed a NTSC version of megaman 2, buuuut i also knew that i needed to mod my NES console so its able to play NTSC games. This was my first console mod btw. Let’s see how it went out.
Based on the following tutorial:
http://www.retrofixes.com/2013/07/disabling-nintendo-lock-out-chips.html
Here is the result:
CWnUQ7PWIAU7bqP

Hell YEAH! After around 10-20 minutes of knifing, scissoring or whatevering my NES board i finally managed to cut the fricking pin they talked about. All the “use a screwdriver to pull the pin out” stuff was useless for me, since i only had those super big screwdrivers at hand. So i used some of my airbrush knifes (finally found a use for them lol) to cut the pin slowly. And surprisingly it worked. After i closed my NES again i tried my NTSC copy of castlevania 3 et voila. It worked, “but wait there’s more”. Castlevania 3 felt same, but different, but STILL F****** SAME. A bit research brought me to the fact that not the game handles the hz, its the console itself. So even with region mod on a PAL console you just slow down the NTSC games to 50hz instead of speeding them up to 60hz like they should work. What a useless trick regarding my goal of speedrunning from a real console.
And why do i now bought a JP NES and not a NTSC? Well I was on a retro expo, and i only found a japanese one. HAHA. Okay but games will run on 60hz aswell, so i just need an adapter to also play NTSC games from it, and the graphical mod. EASY….huh….? Sometimes i ask myself if all that is worth a thing haha. Anyways now i have a famicom, and rockman 2, i basically could speedrun other routes of MM2, where they use japanese version of the game and console. Atleast that!

 

Leave a comment