From Android to Windows Phone – A decision of decisions

Yesterday, i decided to buy a new phone for my work.
I owned several HTC One/OneX and others in the past, some with custom Mods, some without. I always paid the 600bux for the “newest” phone because it was “necessary” to get the best performance. Well, atleast i thought it was. It was that time, when the first quad core Smartphones came out, and everyone was hyped for it to be the feature, And yeah 1GB Ram ofc, more than my first PC had!
The only thing which bothered me was that you can’t exchange the battery pack. Adding a SD Card worked, but no replaceable Battery Pack. I feared, my batterys would die after 3 years and i would need a new smartphone. But nowadays smartphones taught me one thing:
If your smartphone lasts 3 years, let it die in peace, cause usually you can be happy they last more than a year.

I may be some kind of “poweruser” when it comes to smartphones, but back in the day, my phones lasted many years too. I know that the hard-/software changed and got way more complex within the smartphone era. Still why should i pay 600bux for a mobile phone which doesnt even last as long as the bottle of milk i bought.
So, not the non replacable battery pack was the problem, the whole smartphone itself. And yeah, all those smartphones have “water indicators” which change their color when the smartphone got in touch with the first water drop. This results in “NO WARRANTY” repair service argumentations. So even if you send your smartphone back, its your damn fault that its broken. You said your camera doesnt work anymore? Well, look at them water indicators, i bet you licked around your phone and that immediatly destroyed your frekkin camera. HELL YEAH I DID AND IT FELT GOOD! Well yeah, i had more than one frustrating repair service task in my life, relating to that water issue.
Have a deep look at your warranty sheets, you will read stuff about it. And even one service employee told me it could also come from “using my phone during winter”, because you switch between heated rooms, and cold outside, which can have influence on the sensible parts of the smartphone aswell AND result in that frekkin water indicators to show that your smartphone took a swim in the big ocean. Damn you.
Well thats probably the case with most of them smartphones today, but while rethinking all that issues i decided its time for a change. I want a cheap smartphone, with good performance.
Well here it is:
Nokia Lumia C630 in you know what? GREEN!
imageIt’s beautiful, and the design is quite cool.
As a person who has some trouble “accepting” new stuff, i didnt had trouble accepting this design, nor this operating system.

I felt my whole world changed from one day to another, while switching my SIM-Card from my HTC android phone to my new Windows Phone i thought everything would be totally complicated.

But….it wasn’t?!

By going through your first steps into the windows phone, creating or login with your MSN Adress, configuring some basic apps and installing the most important ones, i felt surprised.

Nothing changed

I can use whattsapp, Line, my Mail Accs (While setting my Gmail acc up it even syncd all my contacts back from my android), Twitter, Facebook, WordPress, yeah all the social media apps work on windows too, what did i even expect?
Sure they do. And what do you need more on your phone? I didn’t test my Bluetooth car connect yet. But i think this will work aswell.

And hey, whattsapp is free for the first year on windows aswell! Hype. So what was the point again in paying 600bux for a new smartphone? Ah yeah, the quad core, well this Lumia has a quad core aswell, and did cost 90€ …i could get almost 7 Nokia Lumias for one of my older Mobile Phones.
And for “phones under 99€” you can even take really cheap “full insurance” for 14€ for 2 years. I can throw my damn mobile phone out of the window just for fun, and get insta new one.
But i won’t test it. AND HEY, i can switch my Battery Pack, i can….i can OPEN the backside of my phone, to insert SIM, SD and Battery Pack! Dat feeling, I thought i would never feel it again.

I’m lucky, i can only advice people to take the step to something new. Sometimes, its worth it. And if this phone breaks within the first 2 years like all the others did, and the water indicators say blurb blurb.
1) It was only 90 Bux
2) I have a Insurance for that now! 😉

Catch ya later for a longtime review on software and behaviour~

Leave a comment